**NOTE:** These minutes from the April 3, 2017 Benefits Committee meeting were approved at the May 8, 2017 Committee meeting.

## Benefits Committee Board of Trustees April 3, 2017

## **Public Minutes**

## New Hampshire Retirement System 54 Regional Drive Concord, NH 03301

Committee Members: George Walker, Chair, John Beardmore, Germano Martins, David McCrillis, and Don Roy.

Staff: George Lagos, Executive Director; Tim Crutchfield, Esq., Chief Legal Counsel; Mark Cavanaugh, Esq., Associate Counsel and Compliance Officer; Nancy Miller, Director of Member Services; Carolyn Johnson, Hearings Officer; Tracey Horner, Member Services Benefits Manager; and Heather Fritzky, Controller.

Committee Chair Walker called the Benefits Committee meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. On a motion by Trustee Martins, seconded by Trustee Beardmore, the minutes from the January 31, 2017, Benefits Committee meeting were unanimously approved.

Nancy Miller, *Director of Member Services*, provided the Committee with an update on employer refunds and how adjustments to retiree benefits are handled in those cases.

The Committee discussed the Bulkley recommendation with Hearings Examiner Johnson. Attys. Crutchfield and Cavanaugh removed themselves from providing any guidance to the Committee in this matter in order to avoid any potential appearance of a conflict.

On a motion by Trustee Martins, seconded by Trustee Beardmore, the Committee voted to enter into non-public session under RSA 91-A:3, II(e) to discuss a pending claim, on a roll call vote, as follows:

Ayes: Trustees Walker, Beardmore, Martins and McCrillis.

Nays: None.

NHRS Board of Trustees, Benefits Committee April 3, 2017

On a motion by Trustee Beardmore, seconded by Trustee McCrillis, the Committee unanimously voted to conclude the non-public session.

No votes were taken during the non-public session.

Trustee Roy arrived after this non-public session.

On a motion by Trustee Beardmore, seconded by Trustee McCrillis, the Committee voted to enter into non-public session under RSA 91-A:3, II(c) to discuss matters which could adversely impact the reputation of someone other than a member of the Board, on a roll call vote, as follows:

Ayes: Trustees Walker, Beardmore, Martins, McCrillis, and Roy.

Nays: None.

On a motion by Trustee McCrillis, seconded by Trustee Martins, the Committee unanimously voted to conclude the non-public session.

No votes were taken during the non-public session.

On a motion by Trustee Martins, seconded by Trustee Beardmore, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 11:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Timothy Crutchfield