NHRS Board of Trustees, Benefits Committee May 6, 2014

**NOTE:** These minutes from the May 6, 2014 Benefits Committee meeting were approved at the July 30, 2014 Committee meeting.

## Benefits Committee Board of Trustees May 6, 2014

## **Public Minutes**

## New Hampshire Retirement System 54 Regional Drive Concord, NH 03301

*Committee Members:* George Walker, *Chair;* David McCrillis; Germano Martins; and Don Roy. John Beardmore, *absent*.

Staff: George Lagos, Executive Director; Tim Crutchfield, Esq., Chief Legal Counsel; Denise Call, Director of Employer & Retiree Services; Nancy Miller, Director of Member Services; Mark Cavanaugh, Esq., Regulatory Compliance Officer; Carolyn Johnson, Hearings Examiner; Marty Karlon, Public Information Officer; Kathy DeNutte, Employer Reporting Team Lead; Shannan Hudgins, Administrative Coordinator.

Trustee Walker called the Committee meeting to order at 2:05 p.m. and requested a motion to approve the minutes of the March 14, 2014, meeting. Moved by Trustee Roy, and seconded by Trustee McCrillis, the minutes were unanimously approved.

Marty Karlon, *Public Information Officer*, offered a tutorial slide presentation on the disability application process at NHRS. His informational discussion covered all aspects of ordinary and accidental disability applications, beginning with a member's initial inquiry, required documentation, necessary Independent Medical Examiner (IME) reports, the Hearing Examiner's recommendation to the Board of Trustees, and the Trustees' ruling procedures. Mr. Karlon addressed disability benefit tax laws, the rules governing Gainful Occupation reporting, and closed his presentation with five years of statistical data. Committee members asked questions throughout the presentation. Mr. Karlon stated that he would give the presentation at the May 13, 2014 Regular Board of Trustees' meeting.

On a motion by Trustee Roy, seconded by Trustee Martins, the Committee voted to enter into non-public session under RSA 91-A:3, II(e) to discuss pending legal actions on a roll call vote, as follows:

Ayes: Trustees Walker, McCrillis, Martins and Roy.

Nays: None.

On a motion by Trustee Martins, seconded by Trustee McCrillis, the Committee unanimously voted to conclude the non-public session.

No votes were taken during the non-public session.

On a motion by Trustee Roy, seconded by Trustee McCrillis, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Shannan Hudgins