9/30/24

Note: These minutes from the September 30, 2024, Legislative Committee meeting were approved at the February 6, 2025, meeting of the Legislative Committee.

NHRS Legislative Committee of the Board of Trustees September 30, 2024 PUBLIC MINUTES

New Hampshire Retirement System 54 Regional Drive Concord, NH

As the Committee members were participating electronically pursuant to RSA 100-A:14-a, all votes were by roll call pursuant to RSA 91-A.

Committee Members participating: Ken Merrifield, Chair, Jon Frederick, Sue Hannan, Andrew Martineau, and Joshua Quigley.

Staff: Jan Goodwin, Executive Director; Marty Karlon, Director of Communication and Legislative Affairs; Mark Cavanaugh, Associate Counsel and Compliance Officer; Diana Crichton, Hearings Examiner (via videoconference); John Laferriere, Director of IT; Nancy Miller, Director of Member Services, and Rosamond Cain, Director of Human Resources.

Chair Merrifield called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. and having established a quorum, Chair Merrifield called for a motion to accept the Committee minutes of January 26, 2024. On a motion by Trustee Hannan, seconded by Trustee Quigley, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes, as presented.

Chair Merrifield stated that the primary purpose of the meeting was for the annual review of the committee charter. He said staff had no recommended changes and asked members of the committee if they had any changes. Hearing none, Chair Merrifield and asked Mr. Karlon to address the next item on the agenda, a review of 2025 Legislative Services Requests (LSRs).

Mr. Karlon said only two LSR titles released thus far were clearly related to NHRS: a repeat proposal creating a state retirement contribution subsidy on behalf of local employers and a proposal to increase the amount of service credit a member could receive while receiving workers compensation.

With no further business to discuss, on a motion by Trustee Frederick, seconded by Trustee Quigley, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 11:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Marty Karlon, Director of Communication and Legislative Affairs