NHRS provides four types of retirement benefits:

Service | Early Service | Vested Deferred | Disability 

Nearly 90 percent of NHRS retirees receive Service or Early Service retirement pensions; Service, Early Service, and Vested Deferred retirement pension benefits are calculated based on three factors: years of creditable service, average final compensation (AFC) - which is the average of a member’s three or five highest-paid years (depending on vested status as of January 1, 2012) - and a benefit formula that is different for members of Group I (Employee and Teacher) and Group II (Police and Fire).

Printable Benefit Summaries

Group I

Group II